The Four Directions
The medicine wheel is divided into 4 sections: east, south, west and north. Although there is 7 directions, the remaining 3 do not lie in the cardinal directions these lie within the sky (above), the earth (below) the within self.

Within these directions many teachings lie:
  1. the 4 colors
  2. the medicines plants
  3. the animal helper
  4. the stone nation
  5. the crystal nation
  6. the stages of life
  7. the hills of life
  8. the mind, emotions, spirit and physical

There is 7 layers within each section and within each layer 7 more.
7x7=49 teachings
49x7=343 teachings to the medicine wheel